It's official! We are having 2 GIRLS!!!!!! We are overjoyed!!!! Let the shopping begin!! We went to Stork Snapshots with the grandparents to have the confirmation! The girls of course were a little shy at first, but eventually we were able to see! It was awesome to have both sets of grandparents there experiencing this pregnancy milestone with us!
They were even able to hear the heartbeats over the sound system through the Doppler. The heartbeats always bring tears to my eyes. That never gets old.
I am so happy to know my little girls have a best friend for life. My younger sisters are identical twins and they are best friends! They have a bond that is indescribable. I am so happy I am able to give my daughters a best friend for life.
They are womb-mates, already so attached and bonded in a way I will never know. :)
A sister is a gift to the heart, a friend to the spirit, a golden thread to the meaning of life. ~Isadora James
In thee my soul shall own combined the sister and the friend. ~Catherine Killigrew
A sister can be seen as someone who is both ourselves and very much not ourselves - a special kind of double. ~Toni Morrison
Children of the same family, the same blood, with the same first associations and habits, have some means of enjoyment in their power, which no subsequent connections can supply... ~Jane Austen, Mansfield Park, 1814
What's the good of news if you haven't a sister to share it? ~Jenny DeVries
Sisters is probably the most competitive relationship within the family, but once the sisters are grown, it becomes the strongest relationship. ~Margaret Mead
Bless you, my darling, and remember you are always in the heart - oh tucked so close there is no chance of escape - of your sister. ~Katherine Mansfield
A sister smiles when one tells one's stories - for she knows where the decoration has been added. ~Chris Montaigne
More than Santa Claus, your sister knows when you've been bad and good. ~Linda Sunshine
In the cookies of life, sisters are the chocolate chips. ~Author Unknown
When sisters stand shoulder to shoulder, who stands a chance against us? ~Pam Brown
The mildest, drowsiest sister has been known to turn tiger if her sibling is in trouble. ~Clara Ortega
A sister is a forever friend. ~Author Unknown
The best thing about having a sister was that I always had a friend. ~Cali Rae Turner
There is no better friend than a sister. And there is no better sister than you. ~Author Unknown
A sibling may be the keeper of one's identity, the only person with the keys to one's unfettered, more fundamental self. ~Marian Sandmaier
Our roots say we're sisters, our hearts say we're friends. ~Author Unknown
Saturday, March 24, 2012
Friday, March 23, 2012
Swollen Feet and Pregnancy Fun!
![]() |
| swollen foot next to my mom's foot |
I am now into my 17th week of pregnancy and I am feeling flutters more often (mostly at night!) Also, I am experiencng swollen ankles! I have been pretty bsy at work so I have been distracted and not realizing my changing body liteally changes daily! At the end of the work day on Monday, I looked at my feet and my foot was swollen. It looked like an elephant's foot! My sister Kayla is getting married next year and all my sisters and mom met at Davids bridal to check out some dresses. I showed my sisters and mom and they said to call the doctor on-call just to be sure everything was ok being it was so soon to be experiencing this. To me, nothing really matters, I have a high tolerance of pain and any achy symptoms for that matter. The doctor immediately called me back and said to come to the office in the AM just to rule out preeclampsia. I went in and everything was fine. She did say since I am carrying twins, I will experience things sooner. This is just one of those things. She said otherwise I am looking great and appear in good shape! Phew! I am now instructed to sit and elevate when possible. Plus the nurses I work with take good care of me while I am at work. :)
![]() |
| 16.5 weeks! |
Tomorrow, Pat and I have our gender determination scan at Stork Snapshots! Finally we will hear the confirmation on the genders! We are inviting the grandparents to get a sneak peek at their grandchildren and to be there when we hear the confirmation of the genders. Also, we are going to announce their names! We just can't keep them in anymore. We want to be able to buy them personalized things for their nursery and call them by name at home and not worry if we slip in front of somebody! I feel it will make them even more real to us! Plus, I feel I am already getting to know their personalities based on when they flutter. It is funny because Pat even asks "Is ______ fluttering up a storm right now. I know he/she likes that." So much fun in store...I will keep everybody posted! I love all the fun milestones of pregnancy!
Saturday, March 10, 2012
PRELIMINARY RESULTS ARE IN!
Yesterday, we had an appointment with our periontologist. At first, I didnt know what to expect. She explained how high-risk I am carrying multiples and will need to be checked every 2 weeks. Well, not the babies, but me. My cervix will need to be watched like a hawk to make sure my body can hold the extra weight of a 2nd baby. They want to get a measurement on it. Yesterday, they did say it was nice and long and thick! Very reassuring! No signs of distress! I knew I was always considered high-risk, but the doctor made it sound like I am being watched like a hawk. I am 100% ok with it! Going to doctors for constant reassurance is something I that I like.
I had an ultrasound to get measurements of the babies. It was a pretty lengthy scan! My tech was very good at teaching me all about scans and what to look for. She was very involved. It was a great experience. There was a flat screen TV hanging on the wall of what the scan showed so I can see everything. Her machine was very detailed and sharp. Everything looked so sharp!I just knew she would have a good guess on the genders. Things were appearing very clear! She had some great pics! The preliminary results are in!! We are having two little GIRLS!!!! I am on cloud 9!!! They appear healthy and brain, heart, and spine all appear perfect at this point!!That was what I was worried about! I always seem to drive to these scans thinking of everything that could go wrong!! Pat tells me I need to stop. Start expecting the best! ..He is right. I think it is just the maternal nature in me to always worry. Here are our 2 little princesses!!!
I had an ultrasound to get measurements of the babies. It was a pretty lengthy scan! My tech was very good at teaching me all about scans and what to look for. She was very involved. It was a great experience. There was a flat screen TV hanging on the wall of what the scan showed so I can see everything. Her machine was very detailed and sharp. Everything looked so sharp!I just knew she would have a good guess on the genders. Things were appearing very clear! She had some great pics! The preliminary results are in!! We are having two little GIRLS!!!! I am on cloud 9!!! They appear healthy and brain, heart, and spine all appear perfect at this point!!That was what I was worried about! I always seem to drive to these scans thinking of everything that could go wrong!! Pat tells me I need to stop. Start expecting the best! ..He is right. I think it is just the maternal nature in me to always worry. Here are our 2 little princesses!!!
Friday, March 9, 2012
Flutters?
I am now 15.5 weeks along and I have heard from a friend that when she drank orange juice she was able to get her babies to move. Well, I thought I would give it a try because I knew I was right around the time to start feeling something with twins. I decided to give it a try! Well, I definitely felt something subtle, but knew what it was! It was my FIRST flutter!!! I normal stop drinking liquids by 8pm unless I am thirsty because I dont want to wake up in the middle of the night several times to go to the bathroom. Well, I tried it at 930pm. Shortly after I felt something in my lower abdomen. Nothing too strong, but something. It was amazing knowing it was our babies moving around. It kept happening until about 1130pm. I couldnt sleep! I didnt want to miss this experience! I cant wait for stronger kicks! At least now I know how to wake my nuggets up! I love this feeling!!! :)
Also, I have stepped my diet up. I have protein and calcium on my mind. For those that know me, I am not an avid meat eater. (I know...weird!) Luckily my #1 craving right now are Italian beef sandwiches!! Excellent source of protein and iron! Also, calcium, calcium, calcium!!!! Pat and I are going through gallons of milk a whole lot faster!! I drink it in the morning, afternoon, and evening!! Pat was stunned how fast I am going through milk! I have never seen him more proud of me....haha!!! I told him, I have to drink as much as possible! Our babies bones are developing and getting stronger by the day! It is up to me to give them the nutrients they need to develop strong bodies! So for now, I am a meat-eating, milk-drinking machine! and I couldnt be happier!!
Also, I have stepped my diet up. I have protein and calcium on my mind. For those that know me, I am not an avid meat eater. (I know...weird!) Luckily my #1 craving right now are Italian beef sandwiches!! Excellent source of protein and iron! Also, calcium, calcium, calcium!!!! Pat and I are going through gallons of milk a whole lot faster!! I drink it in the morning, afternoon, and evening!! Pat was stunned how fast I am going through milk! I have never seen him more proud of me....haha!!! I told him, I have to drink as much as possible! Our babies bones are developing and getting stronger by the day! It is up to me to give them the nutrients they need to develop strong bodies! So for now, I am a meat-eating, milk-drinking machine! and I couldnt be happier!!
![]() |
| 14W4D |
![]() |
| 14W4D |
Thursday, March 1, 2012
Cravings
It is interesting to not enjoy the things I LOVED before pregnancy and the things that I CRAVE almost daily that I never really ate much of before. Right now my craving is Italian beef sandwiches. Yummmmm! I never would order these when Pat and I would be out and about, but now I want one wherever we go! I guess it is good protein for the babies! Also, fruit!!!! I can't get enough fresh fruit!!!!!! Which reminds me we have some stocking up to do this weekend!
I havent had a milkshake in years....maybe like 7-8? maybe high school? I cant remember! I actually really wanted one from down the street, so Pat picked one up for me. Lets just say that the babies are not fans of milkshakes...hmm I was up all night feeling so sick! I will probably try it again, but maybe on a weekend night when the craving strikes! :)
I can't believe I am in my 4th month of pregnancy!! Almost halfway there!!! :)
I havent had a milkshake in years....maybe like 7-8? maybe high school? I cant remember! I actually really wanted one from down the street, so Pat picked one up for me. Lets just say that the babies are not fans of milkshakes...hmm I was up all night feeling so sick! I will probably try it again, but maybe on a weekend night when the craving strikes! :)
I can't believe I am in my 4th month of pregnancy!! Almost halfway there!!! :)
Tuesday, February 28, 2012
Fun to Come!
With time flying by us so quickly, I grow more and more excited for what is to come! Again, I still do not feel this is real even though I am carrying around a rotund belly that grows by the day! I have been told I won't believe the babies are ours until I am holding them in the hospital. It is probably true! I do try to make time to bond with them on a daily basis. I rub my belly for at least 20 minutes every night before I go to bed. I can't wait until they start kicking back at me! It is a few short weeks away! I have heard from my other preggo friends that is one of the best parts of pregnancy....Can it get any better!?
In March, I have 3 ultrasounds!! 1 with the periontologist, 1 with the OB and one to determine gender at stork snapshots (if need-be!) yay! It feels like an eternity between scans! In April, Pat and I will be going to get a 3D/4D ultrasound with one of my auntie-in-laws, Kathy, who is an OB/GYN! We will be driving to Detroit to make it a special experience being read by a close family member! How fun!!!Which will also be followed by a baby shower that same weekend! The first of several to come! What a fun weekend planned! So much fun to look forward to! Did I marry into the BEST family or what?!?!
Pat and I are starting our baby registry slowly but surely! Moms have reached out to me to help guide me on what to get so we don't get 2 of everything especially when we don't need to! I am actually surprised on how little we need double of...it really is just some items. Who knew?! I am glad I know moms of twins to help with these types of questions! We are on the fence about where we are registering. As of right now, I know amazon.com and either Babies R Us or Buy Buy Baby. Pat and I have to do a bit more browsing in both stores before we make our decision. We are having so much fun browsing and starting to make decisions on furniture, etc! I love how enthusiastic Pat gets at the baby store!
August can't come soon enough! I can't wait to meet our miracle babies!!!
In March, I have 3 ultrasounds!! 1 with the periontologist, 1 with the OB and one to determine gender at stork snapshots (if need-be!) yay! It feels like an eternity between scans! In April, Pat and I will be going to get a 3D/4D ultrasound with one of my auntie-in-laws, Kathy, who is an OB/GYN! We will be driving to Detroit to make it a special experience being read by a close family member! How fun!!!Which will also be followed by a baby shower that same weekend! The first of several to come! What a fun weekend planned! So much fun to look forward to! Did I marry into the BEST family or what?!?!
Pat and I are starting our baby registry slowly but surely! Moms have reached out to me to help guide me on what to get so we don't get 2 of everything especially when we don't need to! I am actually surprised on how little we need double of...it really is just some items. Who knew?! I am glad I know moms of twins to help with these types of questions! We are on the fence about where we are registering. As of right now, I know amazon.com and either Babies R Us or Buy Buy Baby. Pat and I have to do a bit more browsing in both stores before we make our decision. We are having so much fun browsing and starting to make decisions on furniture, etc! I love how enthusiastic Pat gets at the baby store!
August can't come soon enough! I can't wait to meet our miracle babies!!!
Tuesday, February 21, 2012
Feelings on Genders
I am now in my 13th week and feeling pretty good! I have been experiencing alot of stretching in my uterine area. Mainly it comes after meal times...At times, it can get intense. I was in bed over the weekend, and could not lie still! Pat asked if everything was ok and I said yeah, but I can feel some type of growing pain going on in there. The doctor said I may feel some discomfort once I start growing and she was right! I am def feeling it! Overall, it is tolerable and makes me feel good things are progressing forward. All these physical feelings are just a miracle in itself. I love every pain, discomfort, ache, etc. Pregnancy is just so amazing!
As for finding out the gender, we have our gender scan appointment scheduled in lombard at stork snapshots in March! Pat and I were thinking about having a "Gender Reveal" party with our close family and friends as kind of a fun way to share the happy news with everybody. I found some neat ideas on Pinterest and was getting excited about planning a party, but then realized we may find out while BOTH our parents were on vacation for Spring Break. So we opted to invite the grandparents to our gender scan appointment to hear the news with us. (Aunts and Uncles are welcome to join as well!) So no gender reveal party, but will have a fun, exciting experience learning the news together. Also, we will be sharing the names once we hear the news! Until then, our lips are sealed! :)
As for my feelings on what the genders are....hmmm...well I have been feeling more on the boy level...(I know, I am all over the place!) I am still feeling boy/girl quite strongly. Time will tell! I am getting more and more anxious to find out the genders to start shopping for clothes/nursery items and getting our registry started! Oh the excitement of it all...Summer just can't come soon enough!
As for finding out the gender, we have our gender scan appointment scheduled in lombard at stork snapshots in March! Pat and I were thinking about having a "Gender Reveal" party with our close family and friends as kind of a fun way to share the happy news with everybody. I found some neat ideas on Pinterest and was getting excited about planning a party, but then realized we may find out while BOTH our parents were on vacation for Spring Break. So we opted to invite the grandparents to our gender scan appointment to hear the news with us. (Aunts and Uncles are welcome to join as well!) So no gender reveal party, but will have a fun, exciting experience learning the news together. Also, we will be sharing the names once we hear the news! Until then, our lips are sealed! :)
As for my feelings on what the genders are....hmmm...well I have been feeling more on the boy level...(I know, I am all over the place!) I am still feeling boy/girl quite strongly. Time will tell! I am getting more and more anxious to find out the genders to start shopping for clothes/nursery items and getting our registry started! Oh the excitement of it all...Summer just can't come soon enough!
Sunday, February 12, 2012
Maternity Pants
I caved in and bought maternity pants yesterday afternoon. I think the tipping point was on Friday night after our date night Pat said "umm...You are either packing on the pounds in your stomach area, or you are starting to show." --the gentle words of my husband.... I think I needed to hear it from somebody else other than myself because I was just going to continue to be uncomfortable in my regular pants until it was noticeable to the outside world. In fact, I am actually happy he said that because I am now in my magic pants that make me feel AMAZING! No more discomfort for this girl!
Pat had a special Valentine's Day surprise planned for Saturday in the city, so I am glad I had some dress pants that now fit me to wear out! We decided to start our pictures to show the gradual growth on our way out the door. We had such an AMAZING day! It was the first weekend in a long time where I was able to stay out longer than 30 min without having to come home and rest and nap. Also, I am able to eat again without feeling sick! I think we both got so excited we were out from 8:30am-2pm, then 4:30-8. Needless to say, I was in bed at 10pm snoozing away and woke up 11 hours later! (minus the 2 middle of the nights run to pee...can't forget how fun those are!) The further along I get, the more I pee! Who knew!
2nd trimester starts next week! I am so looking forward to finding out the genders of what is inside of me and to feel some movement in there! So much to look forward to!
Pat had a special Valentine's Day surprise planned for Saturday in the city, so I am glad I had some dress pants that now fit me to wear out! We decided to start our pictures to show the gradual growth on our way out the door. We had such an AMAZING day! It was the first weekend in a long time where I was able to stay out longer than 30 min without having to come home and rest and nap. Also, I am able to eat again without feeling sick! I think we both got so excited we were out from 8:30am-2pm, then 4:30-8. Needless to say, I was in bed at 10pm snoozing away and woke up 11 hours later! (minus the 2 middle of the nights run to pee...can't forget how fun those are!) The further along I get, the more I pee! Who knew!
![]() |
| 11w4d |
Thursday, February 9, 2012
Pants are getting tighter...
Well I am 11w2d pregnant and am noticing my pants are getting more snug this week in my waistline!! :)Nothing too noticeable to the outside world yet, but it is noticeable to me. My co-workers are stunned I am still not showing because there are 2 in there, but apparently, this is normal. Most people don't start showing with twins until 12 weeks or more with their first pregnancy. I can tell when I sit down especially. My poor pants... maybe we should go buy some maternity pants to have on standby for what is to come. I think the next few weeks should be interesting in the growing department. I have a feeling it is just going to catch me off guard...time to start looking for styles and sales! :)
As of right now, my co-workers have started a gender poll. So that has been fun. It is interesting to hear what people feel I am going to have. They are taking my symptoms, my physical appearance, and anything else goofy you can think of and factoring it. It has been entertaining...as of right now the majority of all votes have been 1 of each. It is almost unanimous. As for me and my guesses, I really do not know! I thought I had such a strong feeling on the whole 1 of each thing, but I don't know anymore...I have been having lots of baby dreams lately all of which are different genders. I guess as of right now, I have no guess. hmmm....the mystery lives on...we plan on finding out in March. Being that I see an OB and a specialist (periontologist) I get double the ultrasounds, so I am figuring a gender scan at an outside ultrasound vendor won't be necessary. It looks like we will be seeing doctors twice in March. Also, I think we are strategically going to schedule them. ;-) If all else fails, we will schedule a gender scan appointment. Either way, we just can't wait to call them by their names instead of "Baby A" and "Baby B".
My symptoms are slowly starting to drift away...Eating has not been such an obstacle this week! Which makes me even that much more excited for Pat and my "Valentine's Day Surprise" in the city this weekend! (I can't wait!!!) I hope this means clear skies are ahead! Tuesday marks the beginning of our 2nd trimester (time is flying!!), which means the nausea and fatigue should slowly start getting better! yahoo!!
I will have more updates soon...(maybe even some pictures?)
As of right now, my co-workers have started a gender poll. So that has been fun. It is interesting to hear what people feel I am going to have. They are taking my symptoms, my physical appearance, and anything else goofy you can think of and factoring it. It has been entertaining...as of right now the majority of all votes have been 1 of each. It is almost unanimous. As for me and my guesses, I really do not know! I thought I had such a strong feeling on the whole 1 of each thing, but I don't know anymore...I have been having lots of baby dreams lately all of which are different genders. I guess as of right now, I have no guess. hmmm....the mystery lives on...we plan on finding out in March. Being that I see an OB and a specialist (periontologist) I get double the ultrasounds, so I am figuring a gender scan at an outside ultrasound vendor won't be necessary. It looks like we will be seeing doctors twice in March. Also, I think we are strategically going to schedule them. ;-) If all else fails, we will schedule a gender scan appointment. Either way, we just can't wait to call them by their names instead of "Baby A" and "Baby B".
My symptoms are slowly starting to drift away...Eating has not been such an obstacle this week! Which makes me even that much more excited for Pat and my "Valentine's Day Surprise" in the city this weekend! (I can't wait!!!) I hope this means clear skies are ahead! Tuesday marks the beginning of our 2nd trimester (time is flying!!), which means the nausea and fatigue should slowly start getting better! yahoo!!
I will have more updates soon...(maybe even some pictures?)
Saturday, February 4, 2012
10.5 weeks and Nursery Ideas
We are now nearing the end of the first trimester, and I can't wait to see (and feel) what is ahead! This past week has been pretty rough...I was confused because I thought maybe I was getting hit with a bug, but the more I thought about it the more it didn't connect. Food was just not agreeing with me AT ALL! Every meal was (and still is) a chore! I am scared to eat because I know how it is going to make me feel. I have a taste for NOTHING. At this point, I am eating what keeps me from feeling sick. I am mainly sticking to finger foods, soup, bagels, and anything else that doesn't make my stomach turn. I read this is pretty normal especially for this stage, so I am sticking it out because I only have a couple more weeks of these feelings! The doc says just eat what you can, when you can. I eat for these little babies. I know they are taking so much from me right now because their growth spurts are so significant right now. It is amazing how fast they grow! I cant believe each ultrasound we get! They are so amazing!! Pat calls/texts me what I eat so he knows if maybe he needs to pick things up from the store or take out if need be. If this is the worst, I will be fine! This is no big deal, in fact, I dreamed of having these feelings one day. My dream as a child was to experience all of pregnancy and what it entails. I am privileged to experience it all. I am a very lucky girl. Pat has been AMAZING through this! He has picked me up food at every hour of the night, stayed in on our date nights (even though he hates staying in because our days are now numbered!), and letting me just talk about my feelings as they surface. He is a great partner through this and the more I see and learn about him makes me feel even luckier to have him as my husband.
We woke up this morning, and Pat said jump in the shower we are going to Babies R Us. I said Really? Why? He said he wants to just look around, get some ideas for the nursery, maybe find some cute twin things, etc. I said OK! I like that idea! After we get dressed and out the door, we drive over to Naperville to browse. Pat was looking at the bedding and was HOOKED on having a "Pirate Party" bedding if we have a boy. If we have a girl, he wants to "tutu cute" set. Of course all having to do with animals...mainly monkeys! We were most definitely getting a little silly at the store because I couldn't stop laughing. He was so cute looking at it all and making "his selections". I said, well what if we have 1 of each? They have to match! He said No! haha Oh boy, I am smiling as I type this because we had so much fun at the store together! We still are undecided , but Pat wants are well-known to me now. I shared my favorite and of course he said no...haha! Oh we still have time. Nothing will be decided until we know the genders anyways. Until then, we are just having fun with it. We then moved over to the car seats and stroller section, of course Pat picked out the car seats and stroller he wants. (He does the research check and I do the "where can we get the best price" check.) It's teamwork at its finest. The more we shopped together I just watched his face as he browsed and tried out some products, and I am so excited to see him as a dad. He is going to be such a great dad. He warms my heart.
My last OB appointment was last week. They have arms and legs now! When the doc was moving the ultrasound around, he said wow, your babies are active now! All I saw were arms and legs moving around in there. It was so amazing and unbelievable. This is all just such an amazing miracle. Baby B is laying right on top of Baby A now. Will go for next scan in less than 2 weeks! The doctor said after reading my medical history that "You can come in whenever you want, just call and set an appointment, You have already been through so much, you can see your babies anytime you want." I love this doctor!! This meant alot to me, and I have already taken him up on his offer!
As for belly progress, I can tell I am growing just by the way my clothes feel, but most people can't tell yet. Nothing too pronounced yet, but I can definitely tell when I am changing or in the shower. I am thinking it is still bloat at this time thought because I am reading the babies are measuring at 1-1.5 inches now.
One of Pat's aunts is an OB/GYN in Detroit and wants to do a 3d/4d ultrasound scan on us! We are working on scheduling that right now at an optimal time so she can see the babies and have a wonderful experience with us! How lucky we are! and how fun it is!! :)
Sorry I have been slacking a bit, but this week has been the hardest so far! I promise it will be more frequent as things surface! Until then...I'll probably be sleeping! :)
We woke up this morning, and Pat said jump in the shower we are going to Babies R Us. I said Really? Why? He said he wants to just look around, get some ideas for the nursery, maybe find some cute twin things, etc. I said OK! I like that idea! After we get dressed and out the door, we drive over to Naperville to browse. Pat was looking at the bedding and was HOOKED on having a "Pirate Party" bedding if we have a boy. If we have a girl, he wants to "tutu cute" set. Of course all having to do with animals...mainly monkeys! We were most definitely getting a little silly at the store because I couldn't stop laughing. He was so cute looking at it all and making "his selections". I said, well what if we have 1 of each? They have to match! He said No! haha Oh boy, I am smiling as I type this because we had so much fun at the store together! We still are undecided , but Pat wants are well-known to me now. I shared my favorite and of course he said no...haha! Oh we still have time. Nothing will be decided until we know the genders anyways. Until then, we are just having fun with it. We then moved over to the car seats and stroller section, of course Pat picked out the car seats and stroller he wants. (He does the research check and I do the "where can we get the best price" check.) It's teamwork at its finest. The more we shopped together I just watched his face as he browsed and tried out some products, and I am so excited to see him as a dad. He is going to be such a great dad. He warms my heart.
My last OB appointment was last week. They have arms and legs now! When the doc was moving the ultrasound around, he said wow, your babies are active now! All I saw were arms and legs moving around in there. It was so amazing and unbelievable. This is all just such an amazing miracle. Baby B is laying right on top of Baby A now. Will go for next scan in less than 2 weeks! The doctor said after reading my medical history that "You can come in whenever you want, just call and set an appointment, You have already been through so much, you can see your babies anytime you want." I love this doctor!! This meant alot to me, and I have already taken him up on his offer!
As for belly progress, I can tell I am growing just by the way my clothes feel, but most people can't tell yet. Nothing too pronounced yet, but I can definitely tell when I am changing or in the shower. I am thinking it is still bloat at this time thought because I am reading the babies are measuring at 1-1.5 inches now.
One of Pat's aunts is an OB/GYN in Detroit and wants to do a 3d/4d ultrasound scan on us! We are working on scheduling that right now at an optimal time so she can see the babies and have a wonderful experience with us! How lucky we are! and how fun it is!! :)
Sorry I have been slacking a bit, but this week has been the hardest so far! I promise it will be more frequent as things surface! Until then...I'll probably be sleeping! :)
Saturday, January 21, 2012
Frozen Future Babies
I forgot to mention the outcome of the egg retrieval...oops! I was carried away with our good outcome!! After watching the embryos develop over the course of the five days they were outside the body, 6 fertilized embryos made it to the FINAL STAGE! We transferred two embryos (our twins) and we still have four embryos to use in the future if and when we choose to have more children. It is so nice to know we can try for more children in the future. Right now we definitely have our hands full, but having the option of trying for more cycles to give our twins more siblings, brings me so much joy! Right now we are not talking about more children, but the option is there and that makes this just more amazing!
Friday, January 20, 2012
1st OB Appointment
Today Pat and I had our first appointment with my OB in Naperville. This has all just been so amazing. We loved walking into that office instead of an infertility clinic! It is such a nice change (even though I miss my IRH staff!) As always, I am nervous, but more excited! Being we had our appointment at 9:30am we were one of the first patients of the day so we did not have to wait too long. I did the usual pee in the cup on arrival, weight, blood pressure...(feeling pretty normal at this point!) All checked out well. Even my weight has not changed even though I feel like I am eating more. I think those babies are already sucking up everything I eat. We went over my medical history with the nurse and signed some consent forms and got our Congratualtions on your pregnancy packet. All pretty cool...I had the chills for the entire appointment.
My first question was, since I am carrying multiples, we heard from a friend in Ohio that a periontologist is worth mentioning to monitor me more closely so we can always know the babies and I are healthy throughout the pregnancy. Periontologists are specialists. One of the subtopics of their specialty is pregnancy of multiples. This means more ultrasound checks!! I don't think I can go a whole month without seeing my two peanuts, so this is something I really wanted to happen! My doc said, we always send our mothers-to-be of multiples to periontologists and we work as a team through your whole pregnancy. My OB will deliver the babies, but my periontologist will act as more of a consultant to my OB. Pretty cool, huh? I will be seeing both docs throughout my pregnancy! I truly feel the babies and I are going to be monitored so well this way, and best of all, I get to see them more! :)
Next, Pat and I went into the exam room with the u/s machine. Now time for the good part...seeing the babies! Our doctor came in to do the scan. She tried to do an abdominal u/s, but the babies weren't going to give us a good picture that way, so we went for the vaginal scan. We aren't there yet! Right away I saw the now larger bodies or our two peanuts....they are looking more human! The picture is not very clear, but when we were there, it was very clear! I saw the heartbeats right away! Their hearts are now bigger and much easier to see. Our doc even said lets try to get some sound to these hearts. Baby A was first! What a beautiful sounding heartbeat. I looked at Pat and we were in AWE! We then moved to Baby B and the heartbeat was nice and strong...the sound filled the room. Baby A is measuring at 8w6d and Baby B is 8w1d! Right on schedule! Apparently, you want your twins to differ a tad bit in size. Poor Baby B...Baby A seems to have such a a large sac. It is definitely claiming a territory in my uterus...They could not be any more perfect! :)
After taking about a dozen pictures and measuring the babies, I got dressed and our doc gave us the info for a periontologist! woo hoo! Pat and I left the office on cloud 9...I think we drifted back to the car..It was a truly amazing day...we are so thankful for our two blessings...
I have been weaned off my PIO shots!!! yay!! Now I am just on oral estrace and prometrium suppositories! yahoo!!!!
My first question was, since I am carrying multiples, we heard from a friend in Ohio that a periontologist is worth mentioning to monitor me more closely so we can always know the babies and I are healthy throughout the pregnancy. Periontologists are specialists. One of the subtopics of their specialty is pregnancy of multiples. This means more ultrasound checks!! I don't think I can go a whole month without seeing my two peanuts, so this is something I really wanted to happen! My doc said, we always send our mothers-to-be of multiples to periontologists and we work as a team through your whole pregnancy. My OB will deliver the babies, but my periontologist will act as more of a consultant to my OB. Pretty cool, huh? I will be seeing both docs throughout my pregnancy! I truly feel the babies and I are going to be monitored so well this way, and best of all, I get to see them more! :)
Next, Pat and I went into the exam room with the u/s machine. Now time for the good part...seeing the babies! Our doctor came in to do the scan. She tried to do an abdominal u/s, but the babies weren't going to give us a good picture that way, so we went for the vaginal scan. We aren't there yet! Right away I saw the now larger bodies or our two peanuts....they are looking more human! The picture is not very clear, but when we were there, it was very clear! I saw the heartbeats right away! Their hearts are now bigger and much easier to see. Our doc even said lets try to get some sound to these hearts. Baby A was first! What a beautiful sounding heartbeat. I looked at Pat and we were in AWE! We then moved to Baby B and the heartbeat was nice and strong...the sound filled the room. Baby A is measuring at 8w6d and Baby B is 8w1d! Right on schedule! Apparently, you want your twins to differ a tad bit in size. Poor Baby B...Baby A seems to have such a a large sac. It is definitely claiming a territory in my uterus...They could not be any more perfect! :)Wow...our twins are proof miracles do happen! They remind us everyday! We are DYING to know the genders...how are we going to wait!!??!? We are going to find them out as soon as it is detectable. :)
After taking about a dozen pictures and measuring the babies, I got dressed and our doc gave us the info for a periontologist! woo hoo! Pat and I left the office on cloud 9...I think we drifted back to the car..It was a truly amazing day...we are so thankful for our two blessings...
I have been weaned off my PIO shots!!! yay!! Now I am just on oral estrace and prometrium suppositories! yahoo!!!!
Wednesday, January 18, 2012
8w,1d...1st trimester fun!
Here I am...still very pregnant with things progressing forward! I am 8 weeks and 1 day pregnant today! This whole pregnancy experience is something nobody could prepare you for. I never thought I could get so tired and so nauseous all at once! Your body changes in every way possible. Right now, it is just a battle to get to the end of the week. I am loving every second of it. I still feel so blessed I get to experience pregnancy! I have never felt more comfortable in my own skin and proud to be who I am. I can already feel a bond. It is just amazing and words can't describe it.
On my way home from work, I was driving home, and I had a flashback to when I was a child and was informed of my news by my pediatric surgeon. If I could thank her now for saving my uterus and allowing me to feel what I feel today, I would. Each day is a gift, and it keeps getting better. I love seeing miracles happen. My life is just so great right now. I love watching Pat be so excited every day. I can already tell he is going to be the best dad and talking about these two peanuts on the way. It brings me so much joy! I want to just hug these two bugs right now!
As I get closer to our gender determination, I am going to make predictions on what I feel I am having based on my symptoms and gut feeling. As of today, I am feeling a boy and a girl. Again, this may change, but today I feel we are going to have one of each. :) It will be interesting to see if this changes. Pat has the same feeling as of today. It is interesting. I did have a baby dream this week and we had a baby boy in the dream. So does this mean we are having at least one boy? hmmm... :)
We do have names picked out for every combination these two peanuts could be. The plan is to share the names when we find out the genders. Pat did not want to share the names until their birth, but I think I talked him into sharing a little bit sooner. It is amazing how much you go back and forth and make changes to the names. We finally agreed on names for each gender and we love the final selections! We can't wait to share them with everybody! :)
Our next ultrasound and bloodwork is this Friday! I CAN'T WAIT to see the babies again! This time they are going to look more human and are going to be bigger. Again, making this feel so much more real. Dr. Scheiber is gradually taking away my meds slowly but surely. Of course this scares me because my meds are like my security blanket, but if he got us to this point, I trust him with our babies lives.
I got my first "You are starting to show." at work today. YIKES!! I am only at 8 weeks! I read online it is just bloat, but I am not sure if that is for one baby or two. I am guessing one. Anyways, I am definitely bloated for sure and it is pretty obvious, well at least to me. My pants are getting a little more snug in my waist area, which is exciting!
I will keep you all posted on Friday's appointment and scan! Also, I may put up belly pictures in the near future. I have a feeling I will be showing very very soon.
On my way home from work, I was driving home, and I had a flashback to when I was a child and was informed of my news by my pediatric surgeon. If I could thank her now for saving my uterus and allowing me to feel what I feel today, I would. Each day is a gift, and it keeps getting better. I love seeing miracles happen. My life is just so great right now. I love watching Pat be so excited every day. I can already tell he is going to be the best dad and talking about these two peanuts on the way. It brings me so much joy! I want to just hug these two bugs right now!
As I get closer to our gender determination, I am going to make predictions on what I feel I am having based on my symptoms and gut feeling. As of today, I am feeling a boy and a girl. Again, this may change, but today I feel we are going to have one of each. :) It will be interesting to see if this changes. Pat has the same feeling as of today. It is interesting. I did have a baby dream this week and we had a baby boy in the dream. So does this mean we are having at least one boy? hmmm... :)
We do have names picked out for every combination these two peanuts could be. The plan is to share the names when we find out the genders. Pat did not want to share the names until their birth, but I think I talked him into sharing a little bit sooner. It is amazing how much you go back and forth and make changes to the names. We finally agreed on names for each gender and we love the final selections! We can't wait to share them with everybody! :)
Our next ultrasound and bloodwork is this Friday! I CAN'T WAIT to see the babies again! This time they are going to look more human and are going to be bigger. Again, making this feel so much more real. Dr. Scheiber is gradually taking away my meds slowly but surely. Of course this scares me because my meds are like my security blanket, but if he got us to this point, I trust him with our babies lives.
I got my first "You are starting to show." at work today. YIKES!! I am only at 8 weeks! I read online it is just bloat, but I am not sure if that is for one baby or two. I am guessing one. Anyways, I am definitely bloated for sure and it is pretty obvious, well at least to me. My pants are getting a little more snug in my waist area, which is exciting!
I will keep you all posted on Friday's appointment and scan! Also, I may put up belly pictures in the near future. I have a feeling I will be showing very very soon.
Saturday, January 7, 2012
1st Ultrasound - 6.5 weeks
Our first ultrasound was scheduled for 10am in Cincinnati with Dr. Scheiber doing our 6-week ultrasound. Pat and I arrived Thursday afternoon to my in-laws home. It has worked out so well this way. As the ultrasound got closer I was becoming more and more nervous...I would have thoughts, "What is something is wrong?" What if the baby isn't healthy?" Every worry ran through my mind...I guess it is typical for a mother to worry...I am learning this quickly!
The next morning was now here. We got up with our alarms and started to shower and get ready for the big day! Pat said he was not nervous...I don't know if I believed him... My mother-in-law joined us for this ultrasound to grab a quick glimpse at what was to be seen. We waited in the waiting room and waited for my name to be called. Within minutes..Kathleen Davis? Are you ready? I leaped up and Pat and I walked in to have my blood drawn first. I was a nervous wreck talking to the nurse how I was..she eased my nerves and said this will be great...nothing to worry about. She said she even gave us the cool room where I get my own ultrasound screen!
I undressed and waited for Dr. Scheiber to do my ultrasound. He entered the room with a HUGE smile on his face! He is always very cheery. You can tell he has such a passion for what he does. He logged into the machine and said, "Let's see what we made!" lol my nerves were relieved when he said that statement. He always says the right things to ease my nerves.
![]() |
| The twins! |
He started the ultrasound and right away I saw 2 big black sacs...Pat and I knew immediately, or at least a good idea. We just waited to confirm the heartbeats in both sacs. Dr. Scheiber said he wanted to finish measuring and checking to make sure everything looked healthy before explaining the picture to us. Then he preceded to tell us, "Not only did we do better than Chicago, but we did TWICE better." You are having twins! He showed us the heartbeats of both babies and we couldn't believe this was happening to us...we never get good news! He said "here is your first little peanut" and pointed to the heartbeat, and then said "here is your second little peanut" and pointed to the heartbeat. What a great change!!!
Pat went to get his mom from the waiting room to get a glimpse at her grandchildren on the way. When Pat came back in the room, Dr. Scheiber introduced her to her TWO grandchildren. She joined the group emotion of pure shock! Our hearts were all flying high in the ultrasound room.
Dr. Scheiber went over some basic pregnancy info with us. It was hard to pay attention because we were just so excited to hear we have TWO healthy little peanuts! Dr. Scheiber then hugged me and shook Pat's hand and said congrats! He said you will need another check at 8-weeks and slowly will be weaned off my medications. I will be able to do my next ob scan in Chicago making this our last Cincy doctor visit. He left the room and I changed. When I was finished changing the entire nursing staff was waiting outside the room and wanted to hug and congratulate us and see pictures! IRH gave us such the greatest experience! They truly are an amazing staff and I am so glad Pat and I were able to work with them for this miracle. You just feel like family there!
I will still be in close contact with Dr. Scheiber for a few more weeks and then I move onto my OB/GYN. We will find out the genders in March.
For something we thought was impossible, is now our reality. I am going to be a mother and Pat is going to be a father. Our family will officially double in August. We are getting our family that we worked so hard for in 7.5 months! I still wake up smiling and rubbing my tummy. Everyday I am living a dream and it will only get better. We will have two peanuts soon and we could not be any more happier than we are right now...well maybe in 7.5 months. :)
Please continue prayers for me and the babies...we are hoping for a healthy and long pregnancy so these babies come out nice and plump!
Thursday, December 29, 2011
Being Pregnant :)
Well, now I have been pregnant for just about 2 weeks. All I can say is that I am loving every second of it. I am realizing I worry about whatever is in my tummy 24/7. Apparently, this is what motherhood is all about, so I hear...and this is just the beginning! haha My mom laughs at me and my worries. Anyways, my symptoms have remained the same. However, I am more fatigued and more nauseous. I am on the verge of gagging every time I eat. LOVING it though! I can sleep all day every day...even sitting up. My temp is still always 99.5. I feel like a walking furnace. :) Also, at work one of the physical therapists I work with was with a patient walking down the hallway. As I walked by she looked at me and whispered, "Are you pregnant?" I said why do you say that? She said I can see it in your face...you are on the verge of throwing up and my posture was leaning forward. You just look a little different than your everyday self. I laughed and said wow, that was impressive! and yes, I do feel sick and sleepy. She said she has a sixth sense for this. Apparently, she does! Also - my lower abdomen is completely bloated! It is too early for a baby bump just yet...but for those that know what is going on knows I am extremely bloated and definitely is not subtle, which is OK with me. :)
I have been feeling some stretching in my uterine area, especially last night. From what I hear, that is a good thing! I have called the nurses at IRH twice now asking for an earlier ultrasound because I am now 5w3d and Jan 6th I will be about 6.5 weeks. They said I will not see much before that and that it will be worthwhile to wait since my numbers were so high...there is no doubt. So I wait...and I am finally ok with waiting on this end of the spectrum. I can't wait to see what is inside me. It already is such an amazing feeling. I already know I am going to need to bring the tissues with me to the ultrasound...January 6th can't come soon enough! :)
For now I just put my hands on my tummy, and rub my baby(s) and just wonder what I will see on Jan 6. I am going to enjoy every step of this pregnancy and not rush or wish time to pass. I am right where I have wanted to be for a long time now. Life is good and could not be any better right now.
I have been feeling some stretching in my uterine area, especially last night. From what I hear, that is a good thing! I have called the nurses at IRH twice now asking for an earlier ultrasound because I am now 5w3d and Jan 6th I will be about 6.5 weeks. They said I will not see much before that and that it will be worthwhile to wait since my numbers were so high...there is no doubt. So I wait...and I am finally ok with waiting on this end of the spectrum. I can't wait to see what is inside me. It already is such an amazing feeling. I already know I am going to need to bring the tissues with me to the ultrasound...January 6th can't come soon enough! :)
For now I just put my hands on my tummy, and rub my baby(s) and just wonder what I will see on Jan 6. I am going to enjoy every step of this pregnancy and not rush or wish time to pass. I am right where I have wanted to be for a long time now. Life is good and could not be any better right now.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)







